When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Hawthorne Diamond in the Rough

#eBayPartner    Most Recent BUY IT NOW Items Listed on eBay
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture

JimRoy

Wore out three sets of tires already!
Hey all, I'm sure most of you saw this prewar Hawthorne on eBay the past many weeks. I studied the pictures closely for several weeks and talked to a few Cabe members. I finally decided yesterday that it was worth an hour drive to look see. At first glance it's not that impressive, but I believe this it is a diamond in the rough. Everything but the seat looks to be original. The New Departure 2-speed hub works great and so does the kick stand. It still has the Wards tires on it. It has some wonderful old grease that is protecting the chrome and some paint. I decided to bring it home. I saved on the $95 shipping and was able to negotiate a better price. My plan is to remove the silver paint and see what the original red looks like. If possible I'm planning to clean it up and keep it original. Jim
IMG_6582.JPG

I made that owner an offer for that bike when it first came up. It did sit there for a while. I thought the same. Diamond in the rough. Good luck with her. Can't wait to see pics.

Thanks for posting Jim. I think that is a good score, it sure looks like that siver will come off. Good luck and keep us posted on the progress.