When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Degreaser for Ultrasonic

-

Cranky Chain Cycles

Finally riding a big boys bike
What degreaser gets the best results in an ultrasonic cleaner? In another thread, Simple Green was used but it left some parts discolored and it left a nasty residue on the tank.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Im no expert in ultrasonic cleaning but i think the waves of energy clean whats in the bath. For PCB boards where we had soldered a component on it, we would use isopropyl alchohol. Unlke water, IC will evaporate quickly and not rust or leave residue. Never tried it on a bike part tho.

My first time using a UC. I bought a 15L one off eBay. It’s big enough to put multiple parts in. The directions were blah.

I used Zep industrial degreaser on ‘99 Specialized mountain bike components. I read that Simple Green was mild so I wanted something stronger. It took two cycles of 30 minutes to get everything clean. The UC never got to the target temp of 60 degrees despite being preheated. I filled the tank with Zep until the parts were submerged, and then filled with hot water to the line.

Final result: the crank and cassette turned out great. The jockey wheel still has a good amount of crud (see pic).

Draining: I’m using a non-disposable degreaser so I fitted the unit with a 3/8” barb and a 10’ hose. I drain it into an oil jug. I like a larger hose diameter and baeb fitting so grease doesn’t gum up the butterfly valve.

1979460ade7b9bd92f1b5bd02fb968b2.jpg

e0b5ba9be2e6fc71c5835f8743274abd.jpg

48f2317e0619a4d61f945b351ee4b8f6.jpg

983cec7983ca8f75c3bad07cad0de2b7.jpg

f90d47d95d0468f85cbae4130c706bb3.jpg

1234cf250a7ecc329ac820a207f2ded5.jpg

464b0c43522a54864b648c492b1b8b44.jpg