When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Best drill bits for the $$?

-
seems like every time I need a good drill bit, I have to buy a new one. Are any tools made in America anymore? I have a ton of old drill bits that were my dad's but dont know how to sharpen

seems like every time I need a good drill bit, I have to buy a new one. Are any tools made in America anymore? I have a ton of old drill bits that were my dad's but dont know how to sharpen
I have been a machinist for 30 years this year! I learned how to sharpen lathe and drill bits when I was 18yo. It is a good art to learn, and pays for itself with time and money shortly after investing in the equipment. I think there are some good resources out there. However, from what I have seen many people do not pivot, or split the point of the drill bit. You also should get a drill gauge, and keep the bit cool. Good luck!

I myself got SUPER lucky at an estate sale last year..I bought one of the BIG plastic nut/bolt organizers full of tons of NEW hardware AND..3 drawers full of 70s? "made in USA" steel drill bits..mostly small ones..about 100-125 of them..for $50 for the cabinet with parts!
I know how crappy the "new" bits are..I worked at Home Depot for 8 years in tool rental..junky..junky..junky stuff..

Prices are always cheap because most younger people dont use tools anymore.

Too many high schools promote college or you're a failure. And don't forget sitting on your azz all day playing computer games or on the smart phone instead of building a train layout (learning about carpentry/electricity), building model kits, working with their "old man" repairing the faucet leak, or fixing/repairing their bike. One bright spot are the younger set here on CABE who actually know how to use tools.