When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Painting Darts on a bike

#eBayPartner    Most Recent BUY IT NOW Items Listed on eBay
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture

JRE

Cruisin' on my Bluebird
Getting ready to paint one of my project bikes and was wondering if anyone has written a how to on masking of the frame to paint the darts any tips tricks or point me in the right Direction will be greatly appreciated.

I am just a hobbyist, not a professional painter. I don't have air brushes and fancy equipment.I know you will get great tips from the professionals here on the Cabe, as we have a great "Cabe Crew", that know everything you need to do a great job! This is what I do: First, a solid base coat. I paint a frame, and that primary coat,[ the finish coat] has got to be applied correctly and cured. I'll let the frame set a month or more, no less, before doing anything. You don't want your base coat crinkling up while you are applying your graphics. You don't want you base coat peeling up when you remove your masking tape.
The frame has to be firmly supported if you intend to do the whole thing at once. Sometimes I do one side at a time, by laying the frame on a table. I do one side, and a week later, I do the opposite side. I don't rush.
By securely supporting the frame in a stand, you have access to both sides. My stand is from 1970 and it is heavy duty, and the is no movement once the frame is locked in.