When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

A Trio of Italian-Canadians: Marinoni, Miele, and Gardin

#eBayPartner    Most Recent BUY IT NOW Items Listed on eBay
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture

Brian R.

Wore out three sets of tires already!
I'm very new to post-1983 (ccm bankruptcy) Canadian bikes and have been trying to get up to speed on who was around then. I've learned there was a trio of Italian-Canadians building bikes in the '80s: Marinoni in Montreal, Miele in Toronto, and Gardin in Mississauga (next door to Toronto). I've made it my mission to find a beautiful and original example of each.

So far, I've picked up this c.1985 Gardin (pronounced Gar-deen). I love that the Italian colours on the frame, badge, and even the bar tape tell the story of Joe Gardin's love for Italy and cycling. He came to Canada in 1955 with $10 and a borrowed suitcase, and built up a successful material handling company (pallet trucks etc.). This allowed him to pursue his cycling-related passions building Cambio Rino and then Gardin bikes. He bought tubes and parts from Italy and brought over an Italian frame builder. He was an enthusiastic sponsor of the Canadian Olympic cycling team including, I've heard, Curt Harnett.