When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Model A servicing

-

dnc1

Riding a '38 Autocycle Deluxe
Could anyone point me in the direction of servicing/set up info for the ND 'Model A' coaster hub.
Total novice needs help.

Take pics of disassembling to use for assembling. Here is a pic that should help!

B67804D1-A270-44AF-AF0F-E90E8C1BA56F.png

CABFC7E6-4978-47F3-A9FD-9024C4DFF535.png

0A63AC49-C7F2-495C-878E-140CAB505A99.png

8080FFC6-0BB2-4FD5-8F28-5FB8EEE62711.png

I'm specifically looking for any 'how to' tips on removing sprocket from driver?
And also, which parts should be oiled? And what oil is best?
Thanks,
Darren.

I've got first hand experience removing a sharktoothed sprocket frozen onto the driver. After soaking for a couple days with liquid wrench and Kroil, heating with a propane torch a bit, I became inpatient and began tapping gently on the teeth in the direction it should go using a block of wood and a rubber mallet. Graduated to a wooden mallet. Eventually there was a crisp 'TING' and one of the teeth snapped off. That took the wind out of my sails and I berated myself for not being more patient. Reached over to adjust the driver in the vise and the sprocket was so loose I spun it off with a finger. The sacrificed tooth must have appeased the seized thread gods...

Here's my favorite view I found on someone else's overhaul page.
ND Model A Expand.jpg

And here is a nice overhaul description on the ratrodbikes site.
http://ratrodbikes.com/forum/index.php?threads/u-c-b-hub-project-new-departure-model-a.48972/.

Mine after disassembly and cleaning.
ND Mod A Expanded.jpg

ND Mod A Assmbled.jpg

Good luck,
Gary