When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1941 Chain Guard

#eBayPartner    Most Recent BUY IT NOW Items Listed on eBay
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture

rigid76

Look Ma, No Hands!
So I have this 41 Autocycle with this unusual chain guard. I studied the frame for markings thinking maybe it originally had a deluxe chain guard but there aren't any. I searched the internet and found 3 1941 Schwinns with this guard, DX with aluminum fenders, cantilever Autocycle with painted fenders, and a C model with painted fenders. So I'm just assuming it's original but would love to find out more about it. If you have a bike with the guard or literature please post.
guard 1.JPG
41b.JPG

I don't have pics or Catalog but the deluxe guard that year is "Clamped" to chain stay of frame. 1 year only is my understanding. The guard looks the same as post war without the rear frame "Tab" for mount. I hope that makes sense....my understanding explained my way?

Also shown in the Island Cycle Supply catalog reprint...have we figured out what year that catalog is?