When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1942 simplex paratrooper bike

-

redline1968

Riding a '38 Autocycle Deluxe
Ultra rare military issue.. used during ww2 this was dropped out of b52 bomers during the war has the original motor in parts there's a military id tag on motor motor matches tag..cool bike..

It's a cool one. Does it somehow fold up? Doesn't look like an air drop bike but I'm not an expert. Maybe used on bases? I've seen Cushmans used that way. I do know the B-52 wasn't in service until the mid 50's.

Not that rare, was probably used on a military base and not in combat.The original 2 stroke motors werent very reliable, most Simplex bikes have had their motors replaced with a Briggs or other small engine. Bike was made in New Orleans, Louisiana.

n

Not that rare, was probably used on a military base and not in combat.The original 2 stroke motors werent very reliable, most Simplex bikes have had their motors replaced with a Briggs or other small engine. Bike was made in New Orleans, Louisiana.

n
Agree. They also used by the USAF Maintenance crews..

I have a book on this and I own two. The black and maroon one is 1936 (?) with a RX-80cc Honda engine and the other one (red and black) is 1960 (?) display model that has only a few show movement miles on the odometer.