When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1955 Rudge

-

yosysfire

On Training Wheels
Hello all. I've been a lurker to the site for sometime and thanks for the wealth of info from everyone. I'm not new to bikes but I am new to older/vintage bicycles.
This is a 1955 Rudge I recently acquired. From what I can see it's original, aside from the front tube which was a Schrader valve. I think the shifting needs a little adjusted and/or oil added but other than that she rides smooth.
Does anyone recommend a place to purchase tires/tubes?

Thanks everyone!
Adam
20210531_185101.jpg
20210531_185143.jpg

20210531_185118.jpg

20210531_185118.jpg

Beautiful bike! The tires appear to be new(ish) Kendas, and they are perhaps the most commonly available replacement tires available now for 26 X 1-3/8 (ISO 590) size. I would leave them as is for awhile - or at least until you have your first flat. I see you have an original TCW hub. I have one bike with one, but have never opened it up (SirMike on here would be the expert). Regarding the hub, I would just add some oil and make sure the indicator spindle is adjusted correctly; there are a couple of ways to do this, but I generally follow the way described on the Sheldon Brown site: https://www.sheldonbrown.com/sturmey-archer_tech.html Good luck!