When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

A Newbie here with an Oldie (Shapleigh)

-
Nice bikes, the Westfield has a lot going for it, for what you are looking to do with it. A matching chain guard, a rack & in my humble opinion, upgraded seat would make it a great display piece. Not sure if they are original, but definitely period, are torpedo or coke bottle grips w/ reflectors. Have fun w/ it & welcome to the cabe

Ok... wow.. these are not like collecting soda machines at all... Ha... numbers and letters... a Shapleigh is a Westfield, a Western Flyer is a Huffman ... Is this like a Buick or Pontiac is a GM product, Mustang is a Ford?
Thanks Greeced for the info on grips will be looking for some.
On the Western Flyer... what is this number? I will go out and check for more numbers on the fork.
WesternFlyer01C.jpg

That is the serial number. Unfortunately some manufacturer's serial numbers aren't an exact science. Your automotive analogy is correct. Shapleigh and Western Flyer are brands. Unlike auto manufacturers, bicycle brands can be found on multiple makers bikes. Shapleigh was a hardware store who bought bikes from several manufacturers and put their badge on them. Western Flyer badges are found on Huffmans, Shelby, and Cleveland Welding to name a few. Check this link for more info https://vintageamericanbicycles.com/index.php/company-histories/ V/r Shawn

Thanks Freqman1... I went out and found these numbers.. you can see a "40" real well... the other number before is up a little higher could be a 5 or 7? paint is so thick there...
but 40 is the year? Dang thought for sure it was a 60s bike... this is older than the Shapleigh? looks newer... See I really do know nothing about bikes.