When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Bought a Phantom, real or frankenbike?

-

BradCon

Look Ma, No Hands!
So I’m a newbie to the vintage bicycle world. I saw this for sale and did a little research. My research told me this was not the 1995 model and the serial number lookup tells me it’s a 1959 and I hope it is a true Phantom. The seat was restored, that’s why it’s black, but is it original? There is something funny with the rear rack support on the chain side, can you tell what’s going on?
Please be kind as I own the bike now. Is it a 1959 Phantom and are most parts original, reproduction or random Schwinn parts thrown together? I would like to know so I can start buying some replacement parts, either original or reproduction, depending on the condition of the bike.
I wouldn’t mind knowing what price this bike fits in, if you’re willing.
Any knowledge you can spare on this bike, what makes it what it is and 1959 oddities.
I’m really impressed with the amount of knowledge that is shared on this site. Truly impressive. Thanks in advance.

I'm not a Schwinn guy, but know just enough to be dangerous...looks absolutely real to me. All the right stuff on it (pedals, six hole rack etc.). I would have bought it too. The seat is restored, but that's usually a good thing and the bike has nice original patina. We'll let the Schwinn guys let you know more, but I think you did well.