When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Caught the vintage bug

#eBayPartner    Most Recent BUY IT NOW Items Listed on eBay
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture

Cranky Chain Cycles

Finally riding a big boys bike
Howdy, newbie here!

Can someone point me in the general direction of a central directory, thread or guide that goes into detail about the restoration process? I've done multiple searches on this site and the information is pretty scattered. I'm looking for clear and concise, step-by-step instructions that would cover the entire process. I've also done many Google and YouTube searches; nothing seem comprehensive.

My first project is a 1964 Columbia Sports III. Pretty common I presume. It just needs a good cleaning. The LBS thinks its only worth ~$80. Any and all advise is appreciated!

Josh
IMG_3285.JPG
IMG_3286.JPG
IMG_3287.JPG
fullsizeoutput_1dea.jpeg

Josh I think they over estimate its worth. I don't think you will find one thread that covers each part of a service/cleaning. Some chrome polish and maybe a little 0000 steel wool on any crusty spots of chrome. A good washing of the painted parts followed by maybe a real light polish and then a good quality wax. Remove, clean, and re-grease all bearings and hubs. Make sure you adjust and check everything is tight and ride on. V/r Shawn

What are you planning on doing with your bike? Doesn't seem like it need a restoration..