When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Closed Fork Drop Out Question

-

Rides4Fun

Finally riding a big boys bike
Hi Cabers,

I have a mid-30’s Snyder built Hawthorne bike with the open drop out on one side and the closed on the other side. I recognize that this type of configuration has been discussed before with respect to spreading the forks, etc., to install the wheel. However, I’m thinking about using a threaded rod from the hardware store for an axle for a drop center wheel set I have (don’t know the brand) and was wondering if this may work. Specifically, is threaded rod solid and as hard as a standard axle? Also, would I likely be able to find threaded rod in the same size and with the same tpi?

Any insights and advice are very much appreciate as I am still learning about vintage bikes and would rather not cut the fork or spread the forks to put wheel on and off.

Thank you and have a great day,

Barry

Standard all thread is definitely not as strong as the axles. There are three grades of ATR so check out the tensile strength on them. I've never used it for an axle and I know some here have.

Not sure if Snyder used a closed front fork end in the 1930’s (or if ever?).
Many Snyder forks that I have seen have the two ovals embossed top plate crown; I have also seen the flat-top fork crowns, but not sure of a make or model.
Maybe post a picture of the forks as well as the whole bicycle?
https://thecabe.com/forum/threads/30’s-snyder-motobike.189287/

Front axles of the 5/16” variety might come in 24tpi, 26tpi, or metric; not sure about hardware stores’ threaded rods (18tpi?).
The thread pitch and size should match the cones, lock nuts (jam nuts), and axle nuts. https://thecabe.com/forum/threads/fork-with-open-closed-drop-out.194222/

Last edited: