When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Converting Suburban 5-speed to 10-speed

#eBayPartner    Most Recent BUY IT NOW Items Listed on eBay
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture

Passaloutre

On Training Wheels
I've got a late 70s Schwinn Suburban that I've been riding for a couple years now. I bought it cheap, fixed it up, and ride it for leisure. Therefore I'm not looking to spend a lot of money or buy a different bike. It's not pretty enough to be a restoration piece. I've attached a photo of the as-bought condition.

It is currently a 5 speed with Positron Rear Derailleur and Shimano Front Freewheel, and I'd like to upgrade it to 10 speed for some of the hills I have to deal with along my route. In order to make this change I believe I will need the following, but feel free to offer your opinions and tell me if I'm wrong. You'll notice a common theme of sticking with vintage parts or upgrading to more modern standards, which I think it something we all feel. I'm kinda leaning towards modernization, as I've already switched to new dual-pivot brakes and alloy wheels, and I really like what they've done for the bike.