When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

help me id this elgin

-

Barkeep

Finally riding a big boys bike
Hi guys, I have the opportunity to purchase this bike and would love if anyone can help me with some info. It is a 26" and is original paint. I thought the grips looked small but not sure. The seller is asking 300 dollars and I'm curious if id be over paying or if that is a fair price. I really like the bike but don't want to over pay by a large margin. Thanks...

IMG_5239-1.jpg

IMG_5240-1.jpg

IMG_5241-1.jpg

I'm no expert but that looks like a nice bike for $300. I do agree the short grips are probably meant for a tricycle, but correct ones are readily available. Might be my old eyes, but could there be a very slight bend in the fork? I'd wait for the experts to chime in on that one. Good luck!

thumbs up

First of all, you are probably buying this from a "bike guy" as it looks overhauled/taken care of.
Secondly, BUY THE BIKE!

The singletube tires alone are worth nearly the asking and the chrome looks good throughout, the red/white finish looks very nice, a bonus matching patina rack....and then there's the saddle.

It appears the stem, bars, and grips are all from a ladies bicycle, but the important stuff is all there.

I would be interested in buying it if you do not, so let me know if it is not your style.

Chris

Thank you for the information. I knew i was going to buy it but needed a little more than self justification. Being four miles from my door i went and picked it up and am back home. Ill clean up a few things and snap some more pics. Im going to try and determine year and model then will be pursuing the correct grips act. the pedals are small... could they be wrong or am i just not familiar with the sizing of these old elgins?