When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Hiawatha Identification for a Newbie!

-
B

Berndog

Hello All,
I was recently given this Hiawatha bicycle from a friend. I'm new to the Vintage bike realm and was wondering if it is worth restoring. From the research I've done so far, I think it is an early to mid sixties Hiawatha but I am not sure exactly of the year or model. There are no Gambles markings on it like most of the others I've seen. It has 2 little lights on each side of the front badge coming out of the tank. The serial # is WG 3*908A 870184 found on the lower back frame. If someone has some insight on this bike let me know.

Attachments

• P8250014.jpg
    P8250014.jpg
    153.3 KB · Views: 434
  • P8250015.jpg
    P8250015.jpg
    137.7 KB · Views: 297
  • P8250007.jpg
    P8250007.jpg
    137.9 KB · Views: 319
  • P8250012.jpg
    P8250012.jpg
    97 KB · Views: 283
  • P8250008.jpg
    P8250008.jpg
    85.4 KB · Views: 290
Welcome to the forum! Your bike was built by Murray in the early-mid 60s. That looks like a Bendix red band coaster hub, which was superceded by the RB-2 in 1963. It's a neat bike, well designed, and a smooth ride. Not worth a whole lot, most ladies' bikes aren't. I'd just clean it up & ride it!:)

Thanks. That's kind of what I thought after doing some more reading. I saw a picture of a Western Flyer that looked identical. I think it was in Barry's Bikes gallery. Were these bikes generically labeled for different companies?

Thanks. That's kind of what I thought after doing some more reading. I saw a picture of a Western Flyer that looked identical. I think it was in Barry's Bikes gallery. Were these bikes generically labeled for different companies?