When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How to remove handle bar grips?

#eBayPartner    Most Recent BUY IT NOW Items Listed on eBay
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture

Dakind

'Lil Knee Scuffer
How is the best way to remove old handle bar grips without destroying them? I'm kinda new to bike restoration and any help would be great. Also this site rips! I've learned alot.

I heard compress air shot through a small hole works.
I used a 7/8 wrench and a rubber mallet, I scuffed up the inside edge of the grips a bit.

I fill a small bucket full of very hot tap water, soak the bar-end/grip for a couple of minutes, then wrap the grip in a towel and work it off.

Phil

Slide a spoke down between the grips and the handlebar, squirt in some water, and twist off with the spoke still in place. Another squirt of water might help.

Adjust bars so the ends are pointing towards the ground.
Carefully insert a long thin screwdriver or ice pick between handle bar and grip.
Squirt a little Windex or soapy water in the opening you made there.
Twist the grip to release it's hold and gently twist and pull it off.

Thanks everyone for the ideas. Restoring a 77 schwinn 20" hollywood for my daughter and didn't want to loose the grips. I'll let everyone know how it goes.

I stick a very small flat screwdriver under the edge and squirt WD40 under it. Then remove the screwdriver and twist gently at that end.

removing grips