ideas/non-vintage

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by halfatruck, Jun 13, 2018 at 7:53 AM.

1. #1 Posted Jun 13, 2018 at 7:53 AM

I live for the CABE

I've been riding my vintage bikes for quite a few years (now riding these during the week) , I now am using a mountain bike on weekends to ride longer rides along a river (I've added 2.12 street tires)..question is anyone know how much difference this combo (ease of) to ride than say a hybrid with a lighter frame and 700c tires (having a hard time keeping up with my 50ish son), or would adding a narrower/higher pressure tire to the MTN bike help:confused: or...would a vintage collegiate/suburban etc ride easier......

2. #2 Posted Jun 13, 2018 at 8:27 AM

Cruisin' on my Bluebird

Compass makes trick 26" tires
    https://www.compasscycle.com/product-category/components/tires/26-inch/
    The tire weight makes a difference in acceleration and responsiveness, but higher pressure won't make you any faster (will actually slow you down on rough surfaces).
    here are my 700c x 38mm Compass Barlow Pass next to 25mm - I run these 40-60 psi, and this bike will run with anything.
    1KXQvW0.jpg

Most people agree 29'ers offer much more speed and control in the rough.
    Compass makes some great 700c tires, as well, up to 55mm
    https://www.compasscycle.com/product-category/components/tires/700c/

If you want to see the rest of my Pro CX, this is a great, lightweight and fast all-road/single-track bike,
    built on a '92 CX frame.
    J5BykBW.jpg

#2 bulldog1935, Jun 13, 2018 at 8:27 AM
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2018 at 8:40 AM
    WetDogGraphix likes this.
  3. #3 Posted Jun 13, 2018 at 8:33 AM

Wore out three sets of tires already!

lightness really does not make a bike faster or easier to ride, it usually just makes it more expensive. I had a 19 lb roadbike and I also have a 27 lb mountain bike. the 8 pound difference had nothing to do with making the road bike MUCH faster with the same effort.