I'm A Newbie, With SO Many Questions

This ad disappears when logged in

pdmccool

Look Ma, No Hands!
Dec 8, 2017
Joshua Tree, CA, United States
Hi, Folks. I've ridden Schwinns since I was a little kid, but I never bothered to learn any of the details about their parts, or the differences between models. Now, I'm wanting to rebuild the 1980 Cruiser that's been in my backyard since I dragged it out of the desert five years ago, and I'm baffled. Long story short, I'm wanting to replace the stem, headset, crankset, chain, front axle, and rims, but want to make sure I'm getting correct parts. The rims are heavy gauge chromed steel, with 36 heavy-gauge spokes, and aluminum hubs. Unfortunately, I think the rims are too badly rusted to be salvaged, but I'd like to keep the same style of hubs. Any help you can offer for a source, other than ebay, would be appreciated.

Bikermaniac

Cruisin' on my Bluebird
Feb 17, 2011
Miami, FL
Hi welcome to the Cabe. Not my area of expertise but pretty sure someone will chime in soon with some help. Post a pic of the bike if you can. Welcome again.

pdmccool

Look Ma, No Hands!
Dec 8, 2017
I'll grab some pics in daylight, tomorrow. I did find a page from a Schwinn catalog that identified my rims as S2's. (Dual knurls, and .120-gauge spokes). Here's a few of the front rim.
1512802370227316544325.jpg
1512802415261542300319.jpg
1512802415261542300319.jpg
151280243607723231837.jpg

pdmccool

Look Ma, No Hands!
Dec 8, 2017
I've cleaned up worse looking rims then that with Evaporust. Give that a try first. Then post ads in the wanted section. I'm sure you will get flooded with parts!
I agree with the others, they will clean up. Welcome to the CABE.
Mike