When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

It started with a drawing.

-

lobsterboyx

Wore out three sets of tires already!
that was thrown away.

a very brief back story.

as a product of the 80s and early 90s, I quickly realized that I was a bit different than my peers, my dad drove a 1954 buick roadmaster and my mom made our house feel like a museum. my parents were both professional designers, my mom, an interior designer and my dad an architect. After i graduated high school in 03, I went the route that many of us did, being lazy and feeling like i would never amount to anything. I got a associates degree in graphic design but never really liked it or chased a career in it. I had odd jobs here and there including a hot rod shop, vintage car parts shop, network admin, and even the pottery barn. I got a break and landed in a major motion picture studio here in LA. Working with the art department, I was fascinated with props and sets. after some soul searching I decided to go back to school and get a degree in industrial design while working part time at a special effects shop. this, my thesis project, has gone through many versions until a full scale mockup was built.

I was sitting on a train from san diego to la, and i was sitting next to a guy that was very talkative and inquisitive. we got on the topic of collecting things and it soon became apparent that he was a collector of bicycles, modern mountain bikes. I told him about my collection of pre and post war bikes and he was very interested. he knew of one classic bike, that shall remain nameless. it wasnt made of tubing but rather a composite.