Klunker question: were vintage front springers ever used??

Discussion in 'Vintage Mountain Bikes' started by Classic Cool Rides, Oct 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. #1 Posted Oct 23, 2017

Finally riding a big boys bike

Hello Vintage MTB CABE'rs !
    I'm kinda getting the desire to build an old skool Klunker to have some fun with!
    I've looked thru some of the Klunker posts here and really love what I see!
    BUT what I don't see much (or at all) is anybody using Vintage front springers......
    Was this because they were SO heavy?? Was it because they were too brittle ??
    or ..... maybe too many moving parts that could rattle and fall off under more rigid trail riding conditions ??
    I have an Extra ShockMaster springer and was thinking about trying it out on a Klunker Build.......
    Is this a bad idea ?? Just wanted some expert advice from some of you experienced Klunker riders/builders.....
    It seems like, out of all the Vintage Springer designs ..... the ShockMaster from CWC might have the best design for an old MTB style........... or maybe the Murray-Made Dual Spring-Springer ??
    Thanks for giving me your 2 cents worth! CCR Dave

2. #2 Posted Oct 23, 2017

I live for the CABE

tryder and 2jakes like this.
  3. #3 Posted Oct 30, 2017

On Training Wheels

Many reasons they weren't used including ones you pointed out. Oh, terrible handling too. (for off road) Website above is great and you can see more of the real deal here: http://www.clunkers.net/

bulldog1935 likes this.
  4. #4 Posted Feb 13, 2018

Bit late, but I just remembered that the many of the riders in the morrow dirt club used springers, particularly Russ Mahon. I’m not sure where I read it but that’s besides the point

5. #5 Posted Feb 14, 2018

I live for the CABE

Personally, I'd never use one, because they suck for pedaling uphill.

6. #6 Posted Feb 14, 2018

Riding a '38 Autocycle Deluxe

1976 klunkers with hand modified 1930's Schwinn Excelsior motorbike frames.