When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Newbie Here With Barn Find... Sort Of! ;)

-

Theresse

'Lil Knee Scuffer
Hi folks! Please see attached pics.

It WAS a barn, a hundred years ago... then in the 1950s it was torn down and the wood was used to build a 3-car garage (no doors) plus stable and gardening shed. In the back of it my brothers and I have always had fun exploring all the cool old things, from antique sleds to old trunks to a few old bicycles. So the "find" was actually years ago, and the bike I like the most belonged to my dear dear grandpa. I remember as a kid he put air in the tires and let me ride them around a bit. Bikes are a bit rusty - not the prettiest things you ever did see. But still, pretty damned cool!

I want to get them up and running again and maybe scrape off some of that icky silver paint my grandpa must have painted on the older one (why did he do that??!). Maybe I could clear coat what's left underneath, depending I guess on how bad it is or how much it would cost to sandblast/powder coat. I'd really rather keep it in as original condition as possible, within reason.

I know the newer of the two bikes is a Schwinn Fiesta cruiser from the early '60s I'm guessing. That appears to have all or most of the original parts and might clean up halfway decently. The older bike seems to be from the late 1930s, from googling. Due to the perfectly parallel and symmetrical curves of the double bar, I think it's a Schwinn BA67 double curved bar Roadster:
http://schwinncruisers.com/catalogs/1938.html#ba67

What I'd like to know: