When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Oxalic acid on pinstripes / decals

#eBayPartner    Most Recent BUY IT NOW Items Listed on eBay
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture

prewarmachine

Wore out three sets of tires already!
I feel like this would be a good candidate for an OA bath, but I've never used it before. The pinstripes seem fairly thin, so I'm trying to preserve what, same goes for the decals. Anyone with experience be able to say if they should be okay, or is a hand cleaning in order? I'd appreciate any help or insight!

20201031_101035.jpg

20201031_101014.jpg

20201031_100959.jpg

20201031_100943.jpg

You might want to try wd40 and 0000 steel wool first. I had good results saving the pinstriping on these fenders without taking away all of the patina/rust to bare metal.

b3aec2f4e7ac7c5772103155e15a5d42.jpg

ca42bcd500ed97c411bf87eb23c31864.jpg

af4efa2378a52cf5254f9245695dd70f.jpg

You could always do the OA bath if you didn’t like the results. I was careful not to press too hard on the stripes.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I always go with WD and steel wool, and I started in a spot, but the pins are already thin, so trying to make progress on the white without hitting the box pins is extremely tedious. If I run the steel wool over the pins it's removing them :/.
Freqman1, do you cover the decals or prepare them at all, or just throw it in?