When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Replacement Chain for old bikes

-

BrianInPA

Finally riding a big boys bike
I have a 1953 Roadmaster that I am interested in replacing the chain. I am not sure what size to get or if there is a modern equivalent that folks gravitate to for older bikes. Any suggestions would be a huge help! TIA!

Lets see a pic of the chain ring. V/r Shawn
Here you go, thank you!

Screenshot_20220518-090437-01.jpeg

Standard 1/2" pitch chain. Just make sure length is correct but easy to find--maybe even Walmart. Make sure it is labeled for single speed. That looks like a Wald replacement chain ring. Make sure the sprocket is also 1/2" and not 1" pitch. V/r Shawn

Standard 1/2" pitch chain. Just make sure length is correct but easy to find--maybe even Walmart. Make sure it is labeled for single speed. That looks like a Wald replacement chain ring. Make sure the sprocket is also 1/2" and not 1" pitch. V/r Shawn
Ok thank you so much for the info, I really appreciate it! That's the last piece I need to get the old girl on the road😊😊

Also, when people say “standard” 1/2” pitch chain, that means 1/8” width, (sometimes identified as single speed chain or 3-speed); and that there is another smaller 3/32” width chain for derailleur bikes and some BXM bikes (too small).
And then there is a wider (sometimes called heavy duty) size at 3/16” width (too fat). The heavy “duty” (or service) may actually be independent of the interface size, but have thicker side plates; (i.e., HD 1/2” x 1/8”).

Last edited:
Also, when people say “standard” 1/2” pitch chain, that means 1/8” width, (sometimes identified as single speed chain or 3-speed); and that there is another smaller 3/32” width chain for derailleur bikes and some BXM bikes (too small).