When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Seeking Sting-rays With Stories

-

@RideMC3

On Training Wheels
I'm still a newbie here but have fallen in love with the story of the Sting-Ray and how it was not created by adults or the bike industry, but by KIDS in their quest for muscle-car cool. I'm of the next generation (my first bike was a red Schwinn 10-speed that I rode to school every day) but no bike seems to epitomize the freedom of childhood like the Sting-Ray.

I'm looking for a Sting-Ray with a great story -- and an owner who'd be willing to share it with me for a magazine feature. Maybe it was owned by three generations of the same family. Or sold by a kid who grew up and repurchased it years later. Or a bike that has had at least three different owners I could track down and interview to hear what the bike meant to them. A Sting-Ray is a vehicle for so much more than a ride. Kind of like the Giving Tree (the Shel Silverstein book) was for her boy.

I'm a lover of all bikes (I have mountain, road, BMX, cyclocross, and cruisers in the garage) and would love to own a Sting-Ray one day. I'm a writer by profession (I write for Bicycling, Bike, Outside, and other mags), so whenever I find a great bike story, I'm really happy. I came on here earlier asking about the Vista Torino and found some really great experts who were willing to help me. I hope some Sting-Ray owners will reach out and tell me about their favorite storied Schwinn.

You can vet my work here: kimhcross.com and kimhcross.wordpress.com and on Amazon.

If you'd rather not post in the thread, feel free to PM me or email me at kimhcross (at) gmail (dot) com.

Thanks!