When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Spoke Sizes for Schwinn Rims?!?

-

Jaegermeister

On Training Wheels
Sorry, I'm still a bit of a newbie to vintage Schwinn cruisers but love 'em. I tried searching for spoke sizes but didn't come up with what I was looking for.

I have a couple of project bikes I am cleaning and tuning up before returning them back into the wild for others to enjoy. The problem I am having is finding any kind of guide or chart that lists out what size spokes are needed for all the different Schwinn rim sizes and hub combinations.

Example - I have a '70 Breeze I bought because it had a Yellowband 2 speed kickback on it that I wanted to use on a different bike so I am going to put a single speed in the 26" S-5 rims but don't know what size spokes I'll need to swap in the single speed hub.

Does anyone know if such a spoke chart or reference guide exists for vintage Schwinn rims or where I can find a good source to get that info? I work with just 26" rims but have some S-7's, S-2's, and S-5/S-6 size rims with either Bendix 1 speed coaster or 2 speed kickback hubs.

If someone can point me in the right direction or help get the needed info I'd really appreciate it.

Cheers!

Specifically looking to verify the following spoke sizes needed for:

- 26" S-7 - front hub, single speed, and 2 speed kickback
- 26" S-2 - front hub, single speed, and 2 speed kickback
- 26" S-5/S-6 - front hub, single speed, and 2 speed kickback

Do a Google search for "free spoke calculator". There are many available and they will ask you a bunch of measurements of the parts of your project wheels. You punch in the numbers and the calculator will give you the length of the spokes you need. Usually you need 3 different sizes. Front and right and left rear. Roger