When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Threads per inch

#eBayPartner    Most Recent BUY IT NOW Items Listed on eBay
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
I've been using a 1''-24tpi die for over 25 years and it has fit every bike i had. The secret is to get an adjustable die. Tighten the screw and it expands so you can easily get it down to the good threads below the messed up ones. Then loosen the screw so it fits tight and work it back through the damaged threads. I paid $64 for it back then.
Great info. I ready paid over 50 for a non adjustable one. I don't have and bad threads. I need to add about 1/2 more threads so I work with it and see if I ca. Get it started.

If your tap works on your Schwinn, it will work on the Colson. Sven is right about the threads being screwed up because the steering tube is slightly out of round. If your Colson head nut fits your Schwinn, that's the problem.