When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

to restore or not?

#eBayPartner    Most Recent BUY IT NOW Items Listed on eBay
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture
eBay Auction Picture

sloar

Finally riding a big boys bike
i just picked this bike up and plan on doing a full restoration. i'm no novice to bicycle or car restorations so this wouldnt really be a problem for me. plans are to nickel plate everything. sandblast the frame and fork, do the necessary dent and ding fixes and repaint in a gloss black, reproduce the art work in gold leaf. restore the wood rims and respoke. and install white tires. i will probably never know the maker of the bike so i would use an appropriate headbadge to the time period. i plan on keeping the bike, is there any reason why i should not restore the bike? i know there are opinions to this question but am i going to hurt the value or will it help it? thanks
DSC00997-1.jpg
DSC00998-1.jpg
DSC01000-1.jpg

it would be nice if you can save or shoot images of those decals

You can have some similar one recreated and made to add to your restoration.

A full repaint restoration will kill the value in my opinion and you will never get your money out of it but it is your bike & your decision. I do however love the bike and love restorations from this period when done correctly and would probably do what you are considering were it mine and I planned on keeping it.