Wow - home made steam-powered vintage bike at estate sale

This ad disappears when logged in

charnleybob

Wore out three sets of tires already!
May 30, 2009
Omaha, United States
I run boilers for a living.
That is scary and would be dangerous.
The square tank would contain water and the combustion (firebox) would be the contraption on the bottom, that would heat the water by using a propane bottle which would sit on the round platform on the left side.
The silvery stuff is probably insulation to keep the tank as warm as possible for steam and to, in theory, keep the rider from burning his nuts off.
The weight and imbalance, not mentioning the chance for a fiery episode, would make this one awkward, but memorable ride.

Trout

Look Ma, No Hands!
Jun 30, 2017
Washington State, USA
I run boilers for a living.
That is scary and would be dangerous.
The square tank would contain water and the combustion (firebox) would be the contraption on the bottom, that would heat the water by using a propane bottle which would sit on the round platform on the left side.
The silvery stuff is probably insulation to keep the tank as warm as possible for steam and to, in theory, keep the rider from burning his nuts off.
The weight and imbalance, not mentioning the chance for a fiery episode, would make this one awkward, but memorable ride.
Steampunk steam power! I thought this was awesome until the burn your nuts off part. Now it hurts just to look at it.

Boris

Fat tired old rider
Feb 16, 2008
Portland, OR 97206
I don't know if I'd go as far as labeling it's creator a psychopath, but this person obviously could not tell the difference between right and wrong.

Last edited:

Miyata FL.

Wore out three sets of tires already!
Dec 26, 2015
Orlando FL.
Looks like she has all the right pieces to go choo.. choo.. too bad its not on a toc frame of some sort nevertheless its a cool looking steam bike my respect to the builder he found out what bicycle freedom is all about. Cheers.