When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Year ID on Motorbike

-

Dave Stromberger

I'm Afraid I Can't Let You Do That
System Administrator
I'm not an expert on pre-war Schwinns, and maybe should claim embarrassing ignorance, so I'd like some advice as to what year my bike is. I've talked to Bob Usasi about it last year when I got the bike, and he said the serial number puts it in 1938. However, it has the low-mounted rear fender brace. Fenders appear to have been with the bike for many-many years, with original blue paint that matches the frame under the spray-bomb green. Badge is an ACE.

I added the tank and the brake lever, replacing the shorty lever that it had when I bought it.

With the d-cell tray in the tank, what year does that suggest for the tank? Does the tombstone on the fender, and the not very razor-ish razor stem indicate anything?

Thanks!

My Schwinn Motorbike-1.jpg
My Schwinn Motorbike-2.jpg
My Schwinn Motorbike-3.jpg
My Schwinn Motorbike-4.jpg
My Schwinn Motorbike-5.jpg

Motorbike is

1938 and the tank would be used 37 and 38. The stem is correct for that period. The fenders may not have been from that bike as the tombstone fender would have been used for a spring fork. Or it is possible that the fork was changed, however more motorbike models were standard truss fork equipped. So I am guessing that the fenders were changed / added or at least the front was.

From my understanding the tank is a 36 to early 37.

1935 had the clip for the big dry cell
36 to early 37 had the tray
37 and up had the cage

1936 tank? Am I missing something here?

1936 gilled tank? How interesting... I still say your tank is 37 to 38. Definitely not later. I have had 37 and 38 tanks with either tray. Yes, yes I have.